Solid-body MacBook Pro

Over the summer, the iSight in my MacBook Pro stopped working. The system profiler failed to report its very existence, which prompted me to go to the Apple store for a fix. The Geniuses quickly determined that my laptop needed a new display, since the iSight is inseparably connected to it. So the replaced my display. This didn’t fix the problem, however, so they Geniuses quickly determined that I also needed a new logic board (that’s proprietary Mac-speak for mainboard) as well as a new “left IO board” (that’s proprietary Mac-speak for something that only Macs seem to have). They replaced all of these components, with about a week left in my warranty, for free — thus giving me roughly 1/2 of a new laptop.

2 months later, more trouble: the laptop would now power itself off within a minute of booting, regardless of how it was begin powered. The Geniuses agreed to look at my laptop, and decided that it was plausible that it was their fault — a conclusion that they arrived at on their own, without me needing to point it out in a loud voice. They also concluded that, since it was possibly their fault, they would shoulder the blame. When they returned from the back room, they had a new, solid-body MacBook Pro in their hands to give me, gratis, for my troubles.

So basically, yes, I am a Mac. When I had these types of issues on my Toshiba, Toshiba’s response (in a hard-to-understand accent from a call center in the Far East) was that it was my fault for owning a Toshiba. Bzzz, wrong answer.

So Sorry, Bill, I’m a Mac. While I generally like the Pacific Northwest about 450 times as much as California, I have to say that unfortunately, no good hardware manufacturers ship with your software.

But for what it’s worth, it’s not all sunshine and roses: my previous MacBook Pro was the “middle of the road” line, and they replaced with the “low end.” And while my previous MacBook Pro had a wonderful Atheros WiFi chip, this one has a shoddy Broadcom. And neither will boot Linux from a USB Flash drive, unlike every other decent computer on earth.

But it’s OK, I’ll overlook these deficiencies, since I’m still pretty sure that this was a good customer experience — even if it was predicated on an otherwise intolerable hardware failure rate. So long as they make good on replacing broken equipment, I think I’ll remain a Mac.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Sorry to hear about your Mac. When it comes Linux, I haven’t tried booting from USB. However, I did take a step further and just install it directly onto the hard drive using Boot Camp. The Ubuntu help page for doing so is a great guide. However, my only suggestion is to have the Linux partition immediately follow the Boot Camp-generated free space rather than the Linux swap space.

    Try it out! You can always delete the partition and expand your OS X partition if you don’t like it. (Or if it doesn’t work!)

Leave a Reply

