GHC as the basis for an operating system

Today’s post is more of a “thinking out loud.”

A few years back I started working on an “operating system written in Haskell. The code drew on some C++ that I had already written for dealing with CPU-level data structures, together with some new Haskell code I had written for interfacing with it. I wound up leaving the project to rest soon after that, more or less because I didn’t like the way the code was turning out. I’d later look back and realize that my haskell-foo just wasn’t up to the task of writing the code in good style (I’m planning to release the source this weekend, so you’ll get a chance to see what I mean).

Recently I learned that House, a Haskell-based OS project that preceded my own, is once more in active development. This is good news for two distinct reasons:

  1. It was an interesting project that accomplished much more than I managed to, and
  2. If I ever find the time to work on an operating system again, there’s a project to contribute to rather than re-invent.

All of this made me wonder, though: what would it take to make GHC itself bootable? It’s already the standard compiler; more or less everything works with it. Every day Hackage grows with more software that works in it. At some point, doesn’t it make sense to just boot to GHC?

How would it be done? Perhaps in much the same way as I made Kinetic bootable: create a stripped down POSIX environment, include whatever standard libraries are needed to support the thing, and run Bochs until the kinks get worked out.

What do you think?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Wei

     /  22 January, 2009

    I’m the owner of the site, but I’m not officially developing House. Sadly, it’s not in active development. Glad that you’ll be releasing Kinetic.

  2. What would be interesting, is to take an exokernel and find a way to either integrate it into GHC, and make it bootable, or run it as an OS kernel, and have GHC/Haskell run as a user-space process providing a “library-os” to haskell applications. I think that would work beautifully.

Leave a Reply

